The Beginning of The Wave

This response will be during chapters 1-4 of the novel The Wave.
       The first part of chapter one talks about a girl named Laurie Saunders and its telling about her looking around a small office but no one else is there with her when the should be typeing for The Gordon Grapevine which is the school paper. The history teacher is named Ben Ross. He was haveing trouble getting a projector to work to show a clip to his class. He got a boy named David to help thread the film on the projector. David was Laurie Saunders boyfriend. The film was about the concentration camps the the Jews went to in World War 2. After the film a student named Robert Billings was asleep while most of the others in the classroom was stunned. The students asked many questions that Ben couldn’t answer very well. After class Laurie and David sat in the cafeteria at lunch together. A girl named Amy and a guy named Brian who was the football teams quarterback. Laurie lost her appetite from the film and David ate it for her. Amy and Laurie went to The Grapevine office and talked. Two kids named Carl Block and Alex Cooper knocked on the doors and said he was the principal in a low voice which made Amy waste a perfectly good cigarette. Ben Ross was bothered that he could not give the kids in his class a proper explanation for their questions. He could not find the explanation of why the people of Nazi Germany’s behviour was so inexpilcable.
           I feel that when lots of the kids in the class was stunned by the film I thought that I would probably feel the exact same way. I feel Robert Billings is always down, but it makes sense because he is the class loser, it kind of makes me feel bad for him. I think Ben Ross is one of those people who get interested in something then all they want to do is research everything they can find and learn about it. My favourite part out of these first four chapters was when everyone in class was horrified at the film they watched. I thought that the beginning of the book was kind of strange because, the beginning was Laurie Saunders in The Grapevine office. She was all alone in the office but there was suppose to be other people working with her for the school paper. The beginning confused me until I read further into the book. My favourite character would have to be either Ben Ross or David. Ben Ross would be my favourite because I think he is interesting in the fact that he soaks up everything he can learn about something that interests him. David would be my favourite character because he wants to be a computer engineer which interests me because I think that is what I want to be when I graduate.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kade on April 8, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I liked this blog post becuase it gave a very good brief description about the first 4 chapters. I think that Ben Ross would be an interesting charecter but at the same time confusing. Keep it up :)!

    Reply

  2. Posted by frontflip687 on April 8, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Every good post. It was written good. I think Mr.Ross is my favorite character to but I think he is a little pshyco. Do you think he is a little pshyco??

    Reply

  3. Posted by airforceracer on April 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    I like how you talked about the characters like they were in your own class.

    Reply

  4. Posted by winniethepooh57 on April 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Hey Riley! I really like your response to the chapters and how you told why they would be your favorite characters. I think Ben Ross would be my favorite character too because he is kind of like me. He likes to read and research things as much as he can. Which character best relates to you? Is there even one that does?

    Reply

  5. This was a very well writen post! I really like the detail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

